BAI 2014 – 2015 Calendar of Events

The Black Arts Initiative (BAI) at Northwestern University announces its 2014-2015 Calendar of Events!! (For a chronological listing of events, see the events page).

BROWN BAG FRIDAYS WORKS-IN-PROGRESS SERIES
This series will feature Northwestern faculty who are in the early stages of a new research project. Each faculty member will present a short presentation on their work-in-progress to workshop the idea with colleagues. The brown bags will occur once a quarter. Lunch will be provided.

IVY WILSON
Friday, October 24, 2014 at 12pm, Room TBA

HARVEY YOUNG
Friday, January 16, 2015 at 12pm, Room TBA

KRISTA THOMPSON
Friday, May 15, 2015 at 12pm, Room TBA

BLACK ARTS IN THE CITY
We will continue with our appreciation of black artistic production in the city, including theater, dance, film, music, and performance. Transportation will be provided to select events. All seats will be reserved on a first-come, first-serve basis.

NATIVE SON
Thursday, October 2, 2014 at 7:30pm, Court Theatre

DANCE THEATER OF HARLEM
Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 3pm, Auditorium Theater

WHITE GUY ON THE BUS
Thursday, January 29, 2015 at 8pm, Northlight Theatre

JAZZ AT LINCOLN CENTER
Friday, February 13, 2015 at 8pm, Chicago Symphony Center

TWO TRAINS RUNNING
Wednesday, April 10 2015 at 8pm, Goodman Theatre

BLACK QUEER LITERARY SERIES
This series will feature black queer poets, fiction and non-fiction writers, reading from their work. They will occur on Mondays.

SAMIYA BASHIR
Monday, November 10, 2014 at 5pm, Room TBA
More information

CHERYL CLARKE
Monday, March 2, 2015 at 5pm, Room TBA
More information

THOMAS GLAVE
Monday, April 13, 2015 at 5pm, Room TBA
More information

DJOLA BRANNER
Monday, May 11, 2015 at 5pm, Room TBA
More information

BAI BI-ANNUAL CONFERENCE
Black Arts United States: Institutions and Interventions
We will host our bi-annual conference focusing on black arts in the United States. The conference will be held June 4 – 6 at Northwestern and possibility at another location in the city. Refer to the Call for Proposals.